Department of State Development

Congratulations to the 2018 South Australian Science Excellence Awards winners.

South Australian Scientist of the Year

  • Professor Richard Hillis, former Chief Executive Officer, Deep Exploration Technologies CRC

PhD Research Excellence sponsored by University of Adelaide

  • Dr Katharina Richter, The University of Adelaide

STEM Educator of the Year – School Teaching sponsored by Department for Education

  • Ms Sue O’Malley, Head of Digital Technologies, Robotics and Multimedia, Trinity College Senior

STEM Educator of the Year – Tertiary Teaching sponsored by Finders University

  • Dr Justin Chalker Senior Lecturer, School of Chemical and Physical Sciences, Flinders University

Excellence in Research Collaboration sponsored by University of South Australia

  • The Aboriginal Heritage Project - local members of the Aboriginal community, SA Museum, The University of Adelaide, University of New South Wales

STEM Professional

  • Professor Zbigniew Michalewicz, Chief Scientist and Co-founder of Complexica

Tall Poppy

  • Dr Benjamin Sparkes, Lecturer in Photonics, The University of Adelaide

Unsung Hero of SA - Science

  • Ms Jan Bell Australian Centre for Antimicrobial Resistance Ecology, The University of Adelaide

Unsung Hero of SA - Science Communication

  • Dr Liz Reed, Vertebrate Palaeontologist, The University of Adelaide

Major sponsors

Department for Education

Flinders University

University of Adelaide

University of South Australia

Support sponsor


Temple Bruer Wines